Springtime

Sorry it has been so long since I have updated. I appreciate so much the things that people are doing for me and I feel at this point that writing to you is one way to “give back”. I hope you all know that while you are thinking good thoughts and praying for me, I am sending equal thoughts of thanks and appreciation back to you. Thanks for the cookies, the toys, the stuffed animals, the generosity of my RCHS family (“thanks” is not enough), the cards, the meals, the visits, etc. It makes it possible.

I finished radiation just over a week ago. This morning I feel better than I have in a long time so hopefully the side effects are starting to wear off. Unfortunately the darn pain medication is so strong that I am fighting through mini battles with that as well. But, my pain (still from the surgery) is tolerable so I am very thankful.

I start my first round of chemo on April 19 (dependent on my blood counts of various factors being appropriate) and will be in the hospital for 5 days. I come home for 2-3 weeks and then go back to the hospital for another 5 days and so on. I will do that for a minimum of 4 rounds but it is possible to go to 6. So, we’ll round out the spring and summer with more fighting.

Happy Spring to all. Lots of love, Clare

8 responses

  1. So happy to see your post and hear that you are beginning to feel better again! That is encouraging to know that it CAN and WILL happen! 🙂 Good for you, keep up the good fight, we are all pulling for you, take good care! anne gordon

  2. Happy Easter and Happy Spring,
    Enjoy a chocolate bunny or two today!
    Hang in there, you are soon to be at the finish line of this treatment marathon.
    Elaine

  3. Hi Clare: Glad you are feeling better. It was great to see
    your mom and dad on Sat.
    We left a present for you. It’s big enough that someone will have to drive it up when they visit.
    You are in our thoughts and prayers. Take good care
    Love and hugs,
    Olivia and Richard

  4. Hi Clare,

    My name is Jesica and I live down the street from your mom and I’ve gotten to know her when I’ve asked to join her and your dad for some rides. (I met them through Rob at one of the summer ice cream socials). She has told me how absolutely amazing you and your husband are and how proud she is of her children.

    I just want you to know that I’m sending my positive thoughts for you and your husband. I walk my dog by their house almost every morning so when I walk by I think of your mom & dad and you. Your mom & dad are both such an inspiration to me on their bikes and their awesome agility. They are one of the nicest friendliest people I’ve met since we have moved into the community.

    I just wanted to tell you that I’m thinking of you, your awesome hubby, and your mom & dad.

    Sending you lots of strength,
    Jesica

  5. 4/19/10 – Our thoughts are of you and your family as you start round two of your journey back to good health. We pray that chemo will be easier for you than the radiation.

Leave a Reply

