MD Anderson Cancer Center

In the summer after my junior year of high school I spent 8 weeks working at a Veterinary Reproductive Physiology Lab in College Station, Texas. I hadn’t even taken biology so I spent the first few days of my internship reading up on “the cell”. Those 8 weeks were some of the most memorable of my teenage years and while I hold a special place in my heart for Texas, I never wanted to go back there to make use of their fantastic cancer centers. But, here we go!

In a week or so David and I will head to MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, home to the top Sarcoma Center in the world. My oncologists at UC Davis are running out of ideas (and my disease keeps popping up in a few more random places) and it is time to head to THE place for finding the newest, must cutting- edge solutions to the oldest, crappiest disease that still plagues too many of us.

My Facebook family has given me the kind of boost that I need to make certain I fight and never give up. Your prayers, good thoughts and good vibes are needed and welcome. If you are in any position to help with our financial situation (the health insurance I have does not cover anything out of California) we have received plenty of donations to help us pay for the first trip to Houston but we hope that they will be able to help me a lot – which may mean trips back and forth for me and David. Friends have helped me set up a PayPal account and people can donate through a program called Fundrazr.  Here’s a link  http://goo.gl/LNf1A

If Texas can handle me I’m up for the fight and this time around I know a whole lot more about biology!

2 responses

  1. Hi Claire

    Lisa and I are with you…. we hold you close and your in our prayers. Also, we certainly will donate to you through Fundrazr……

    With love and care

    Will & Lisa Wiebe

Leave a Reply

