Research

These days during my peak hours (when I have a good amount of energy) I spend my time doing a few things: taking walks and exercising; eating (as much as possible from our new garden); doing research.

Accessing my scientist skills.

Accessing my scientist skills.

Clouded by so much treatment over the last 4 years I have not been able to think much about a very important question:

What caused/causes my cancer?

In the ten years since I was first diagnosed with leiomyosarcoma (LMS) a great deal has been learned about this resilient disease. Historically the only thing to actually cure an individual of LMS is surgery but this may be changing! (An especially good thing since the human body can only sustain so many surgeries).

Since I have been able to survive this span of ten years with tumors coming and going I have an immense amount of hope that I can keep it up so long as I put up my fight in the right direction.

For now I am in pursuit of information about yet another clinical trial going on at a cancer center in Houston. Clinicians are testing the hypothesis of a new mechanism of action in LMS tumor formation. It’s still really early in the scheme of things but this is another sign of the right direction.

Another trip to Texas may be in store in the near future. Thank goodness this ain’t my first time at the rodeo.

An after hours visit to a Houston supermercado during last year's trip to MD Anderson Cancer Center.

An after hours visit to a Houston supermercado during last year’s trip to MD Anderson Cancer Center.

One response

Leave a Reply

